Hello there! My name is Kylee May and I am the newest employee of MayeCreate Design. My position here as an intern is to develop and design web content. So far, I have written four blog posts, maintained four social media accounts and began designing an e-book. This is my first job in the direct line of my field of study. Needless to say, I am looking forward to a summer full of new experiences!

MU Student

As a student at the University of Missouri, I am pursuing a degree in science and agricultural journalism with an emphasis in animal science and design. I plan to graduate in December of 2016 with a bachelors of science from the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources. My dream job is to design for an equine magazine.

Portrait of the May family

Kylee and her parents, Lisa May (left), Ty May (middle)

Growing Up

I was born in Portland, Oregon but moved when I was only 6 years old. Sadly, I do not remember a lot about my time spent up there. As 9-1-1 was unfolding, my family was moving down to the small town of Hondo, Texas. My parents made me stay with my grandparents up here in Sullivan, Missouri until it was safe to fly to Texas. Unfortunately, that meant starting first grade really late in an entirely different time zone and opposite part of the country with completely switched weather patterns! Let’s just say that I almost died from heat stroke and sleep deprivation my first year there!

My body eventually became accustomed to the extreme heat with lack of seasons, and memories began to form. My parents and I lived on a 15 acre ranch with horses and goats. My main hobbies growing up involved these two animal species. I participated in everything from showing goats to raising them and judging horses to horse back riding. I even dabbled in horse shows and horse quiz bowl. However, my main sport was rodeo.


From the first grade until I graduated high school, rodeo occupied all of my time. I spent most of my waking hours practicing the events. I specialized in barrel racing and pole bending but could also compete in goat tying and straightaway barrels. Surprisingly enough, I only had 5 horses through the 12 years. Each one taught me something different about the game and about myself. I have to say, even knowing how cheesy it is, that these horses and the sport of rodeo shaped me into who I am today.

Leather Business

Kylee and her horse barrel racing

Lark and I competing in barrel racing at the Region 8 Texas High School Rodeo Association.

Horseback riding and rodeos were kind of in my DNA as my parents and grandparents also had a love for the sport. Both were already in the horse business and expected nothing less from me, which I was ok with!

My grandfather, Rusty May, has owned a one man saddle making shop in Loveland, Colorado for 35 years now. Before that he built saddles out of Albuquerque, New Mexico. I used to love visiting him and riding his horses up in the Rocky Mountains, not to mention waking up to the smell of leather! He has a unique craft that was almost lost until his son, my father, picked it up.

My father, Ty May, has owned a one man boot making shop in Sullivan, Missouri for 3 years now. He did part time leather work back in Texas, along side his full time job, but he could never truly devote to the time he wanted with so many obligations from a child and career. However, since opening his leather shop here in Missouri, he has taken on his father’s talent and has made 20 pairs of boots already!

My (sort of) Family

Pets are a HUGE part of my life and I could not live without them! I don’t think I could count how many pets my family has owned over the years because there have been too many to count, but the different species have included: horses, goats, a pig, dogs, cats, an emu, fish, hooded rats and a teddy bear hamster.

Our current pets consist of:

  • 5 cats that were all rescued
    • Romeo– my indoor cat who I keep at college with me.
    • Pepper– the best cat to have ever walked the earth but now is 15.
    • Tiger– an indoor/outdoor cat depending on her mood.
    • Cry Baby– barn cat that cries way too much.
    • Curious George– barn cat who ventures out more than necessary.
  • 2 dogs
    • Levi– my father’s shadow and spoiled Jack Russell.
    • Brutus– 140 lbs of gigantic big Mastiff baby.
  • 3 horses
    • Lark– my wonder boy who saved me during my troubling teenage years.
    • Lena– the mare whose will is stronger than mine and taught me patience.
    • Pinto– my first pony who is at least 35 years old and still as grouchy as ever.

Looking Forward

I love how my life has gone so far but I am excited for what the future holds. I am engaged to be married and my fiance is training to become a heavy equipment mechanic in the U.S. Army. We are waiting on me to graduate from college and accept a job somewhere before moving and settling down. Then, we hope to plan our wedding and begin our life together!

© MayeCreate Design 2021 | 573-447-1836 | [email protected] | 108 E Green Meadows Rd STE 9, Columbia, MO 65203